late Halloween post (sorry and no it’s not pokemon related :( )

the waking nightmare

 

When I go to sleep I usually have no trouble. However these last few days were different. I usually had very lucid dreams where it just felt real, like it wasn’t a dream at all. There were also nights when the dreams couldn’t be real, the kind of dreams you get where it was happy all around and you were a hero or eating a giant marshmallow.

There was also the opposite of these. Where I was surviving in a zombie apocalypse, in other words a nightmare, but lately I would get nightmares that were too real to be cool or fun. It made it worse when I could feel touch in these dreams like in real life. It made for a mind alteringly scary experience.

Today was like any other day, I would get home from work kick my shoes off and play some video games. I would draw on a sketch pad and then go to sleep. When I went to sleep there was an issue. I felt like I wasn’t asleep. I was dreaming, but it was just too real. It was eerie, it chilled me to my bones. My room was dark, pitch black, only lit up by the moonlight creeping in. The moon was partially covered dimming the light from it.

I look out my window and look at the moon when something appeared as if from nowhere, leering at me with such murderous intent in its non-existent eyes. It had a hideously deformed grin. It licked the window leaving a black stain with its decaying tongue. Its tongue slithers back into its gross mouth.

“I see you!” it says with a voice that is trying to be cute but horrendously deep. I cour underneath my blanket and fall into blissful ignorance. out of sight out of mind I guess.

But when I am about to forget a tap on the window reminded me I am in danger! I try desperately to forget, but every time I get a little foreground the tappings intensity would increase, until crack my window now had a small hole in it!

I quickly come out from under my covers only to see its pale gangling green arm slithering into my room! It reached for the lock and pulled it up slowly! My window slowly creeps open! I jump of my bed and start to run! The window slams open and it jumps inside! I get to my door and instantly regret locking it for this exact problem! I try to unlock it as quick as possible, but no amount of speed would be quick enough! It already had me in its gangling rotting arms. I scream as loud as my lungs could bare! I wake up screaming, my voice very hoarse.

*cough* “it was just a dream.” I sighed in relief. I stayed up the rest of the night unable to go back to sleep. Today my work suffered a bit with me feeling jittery with all the coffee I was drinking to keep my self up, but I made it through the day! I got home and plopped onto my bed and groaned in the covers.

I didn’t feel in the mood for video games, so I just grabbed my sketch pad and drew for a while. when I was done with making a new character I noticed it was around 9’o clock. I figured it was time to get some shut eye. I was very tired so I slept like a rock, but when I got to sleep I had that nightmare again.

This time as the creature had me in its clutches I was trying to crawl out and still screaming, not waking up. I kicked the monster off of me and ran for the door tackling it open. When I got out it grabbed me by the ankles and dragged me back in the room. It pinned me down and roared at me, Hot rank breath and black spit covering my face.

I snap awake, soaring off of my bed and running for the door. I bash into it and turn the knob as fast as I can and rush out into the kitchen. I get some water and drink it fast.

“Not this crap again!” I complained. I hear something outside. tap! tap! tap! I slowly turn my head with a fearful look in my eyes only to see nothing was there.

I sighed in relief “It was nothing thank goo—” I was interrupted by a cold grasp upon my shoulder.

“Why hello there lovely!” the monster cooed, its tongue licking the back of my neck  “you taste different when you’re awake.”

Leave a comment